Folic Acid

By Syed Rasheeduddin Ahmed
Posted: 14 Zul-Hijjah 1423, 16 February 2003

Folic Acid is a water-soluble B-complex vitamin that aids in the formation of red blood cells and prevents certain anemias and is essential for normal metabolism. FDA mandated it to be included in all flour enrichment about 4 - 5 years back. All the folic acid in flour enrichment is from vegetable or chemical synthetic source and the whole enrichment for flour is kosher certified and halal. But folic acid and other vitamins in vitamin supplements or other vitamin fortified foods may not use the vegetable source all the time unless the vitamin supplements or fortified foods itself are kosher certified. So if you see a kosher symbol on any vitamin supplements or food products and if they meet the Islamic dietary requirements then these vitamin supplements and food products are considered halal. Please note that not all kosher certified food products are halal; only those which meet the Islamic dietary requirements are considered halal.