Soft Drinks

By Syed Rasheeduddin Ahmed
Posted: 18 Safar 1422, 12 May 2001

Q.) Are soft drinks such as Pepsi, Coca Cola, 7-up, etc. halal? I've heard that they contain a small percentage of alcohol. Kindly respond as soon as possible. [Afaq Shakoor, Pakistan]

A.) In USA, according to Coca Cola and Pepsi companies, there is no animal derived ingredients and alcohol in their products. 7-Up Co. did not claim that the natural flavors in 7-Up do not have alcohol as a solvent. I do not know about their status in Muslim countries like Pakistan and Saudi Arabia.