Spirit and Wine Vinegar

By Mufti Ebrahim Desai
Posted: 28 Safar 1423, 11 May 2002

Q.) I would be grateful if you could tell me whether spirit vinegar and wine vinegar are halal. I remember reading somewhere that because of the chemical process involved in distiling the vinegar it was not considered alcohol. Is this true?

A.) It is true. Spirit and wine vinegar, both are halal.

And Allah Ta'ala Knows Best