Albalagh Logo

Bismillah hir Rahman ir Rahim

Hadith: A person killed in defense of his Deen is a martyr.

Current Affairs | Food for Thought | Q & A | General Articles | Audio | Children | Letters | Bookstore
Halal | Education | Islamic Economics | Prophethood | Women & Family | Population | Book Review | Links

 
  Albalagh Home Q & A Gelatin from Halal Animals
  

S E A R C H

Text:


A L B A L A G H
N E W S L E T T E R

Email:
Subscribe
Unsubscribe

Please make sure your email address is correct.

The newsletter will inform you of updates to this page, as well as provide other useful information.


Gelatin from Halal Animals

By Mufti Shafiq Jakhura (Darul Ihsan Centre)


Q.

I wanted to know if gelatin from halal animals is permissible to eat.




A. Gelatin acquired from halal animals that have been slaughtered in the halal manner is indeed halal. As for the gelatin derived from halal animals that have not been slaughtered according to Islamic rites, there is a difference of opinion among ulama with regards to whether it is halal or not.

In view of this difference, it is best to abstain from such gelatin.

And Allah Ta'ala Knows Best

_________________________________________________


    Albalagh Home Q & A Gelatin from Halal Animals
 
No Copyright Notice. All the material appearing on this web site can be freely distributed for non-commercial purposes. Acknowledgement will be appreciated. The audio files may be copied to tapes, etc. for your listening convenience.