A L B A L A G H
N E W S L E T T E R
The newsletter will inform you of updates to this page,
as well as provide other useful information.
Alcohol in Food
Posted: 26 Rabi-ul-Awwal 1422, 18 June 2001
|Q.) There are foods that incorporate alcohol for flavor, although the alcohol
will evaporate during the cooking process leaving the flavor behind. I found
some info on this from this website and here is the content:
"Alcohol is widely used as a carrier in many food flavors. This alcohol will
evaporate if used in baked or heat treated products. Some
Islamic scholars consider a food product halal if it is made with all halal
ingredients including food flavor containing alcohol as a carrier which will
evaporate during food processing. But other Islamic scholars do not consider
such products halal."
Now based on the above, is it halal or haram? [Anaf]
A.) If the alcohol is not from grapes or dates extract, and is synthetic, then
it will not be impure. The food having such alcohol will be halal.
And Allah Ta'ala Knows Best